Count Basie - Songbook With Friends


Maestro of Swing.  Count Basie is considered an outstanding figure in the world of jazz. Born William James Basie in New Jersey in 1904, he rose to become a titan of the genre. His legendary Count Basie Orchestra, with its incisive rhythm section and minimalist piano style, set new standards. He led the group for almost 50 years and created innovations such as the use of two "split" tenor saxophones, the emphasis on the rhythm section, riffing with a big band, the use of arrangers, always to expand the sound. In addition, his countless collaborations have produced unique recordings, which are compiled in the Songbook with Friends. These include songs with Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington, Tony Bennett, Sarah Vaughan and Joe Williams. In the course of his illustrious career, he received nine Grammy Awards, including a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award. Count Basie ignited a passion for the big band sound in several generations and left behind a truly influential body of work that has lost none of its fascination to this day.

Count Basie - Songbook With Friends


Marbled, 180g Vinyl 


Side A

  1. Shiny Stockings - Count Basie & His Orchestra  
  2. Pennies From Heaven - Count Basie & Frank Sinatra  
  3. Corner Pocket - Count Basie & Duke Ellington  
  4. Every Day I Have the Blues - Count Basie & Joe Williams  
  5. Chicago - Count Basie & Tony Bennett  
  6. April In Paris - Count Basie & His Orchestra 

Side B

  1. Splanky - Count Basie & His Orchestra  
  2. Perdido - Count Basie & Sarah Vaughan  
  3. One O'Clock Jump - Count Basie & His Orchestra 
  4. Too Close For Comfort - Count Basie & Ella Fitzgerald  
  5. Jumpin' at the Woodside - Count Basie & Duke Ellington  
  6. Li'l Darlin' - Count Basie & His Orchestra