Quincy Jones And His Orchestra - Big Band Bossa Nova


The Maestro, Mr. Quincy Jones.  

Big Band Bossa Nova is the unique mix of jazz and bossa nova music by jazz trumpeter, bandleader and genius Quincy Jones. It is the perfect combination of Brazilian rhythms and American big band sound and revolutionized jazz in the 1960s. Recorded on September 7, 1962 at A & R Studios in New York City, the album is a tribute to Brazilian culture and music. Jones, who served as both producer and arranger of the record, created a sound that remains influential to this day. The opener, "Soul Bossa Nova," also composed by Quincy Jones, is still a classic today and is often used in movies and commercials. The album is a milestone in jazz and bossa nova history and earned Quincy Jones his first Grammy Award. It was not to be the last. Jones expanded his repertoire and produced albums for artists such as Herbie Mann, Donna Summer and Aretha Franklin. For Michael Jackson, he produced "Off the Wall," "Thriller" and "Bad." These albums helped make Jackson a superstar and Jones one of the most successful music producers of all time. In total, Quincy Jones won 28 Grammy Awards, including a Grammy Legend Award and a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.

Quincy Jones And His Orchestra -

Big Band Bossa Nova 

Limited - First 1.111 Units Numbered

1 x Yellow 180g Vinyl 


Side A

  1. Soul Bossa Nova  
  2. Boogie Bossa Nova  
  3. Desafinado  
  4. Black Orpheus (Manha De Carnaval)  
  5. Se É Tarde Me Perdoa (Forgive Me If I‘m Late)  

Side B

  1. On The Street Where You Live  
  2. Samba de Uma Nota So (One Note Samba)  
  3. Lalo Bossa Nova  
  4. Serenata  
  5. Chega De Saudade (No More Blues)